

## Republic of the Marshall Islands Office of the Public Service Commission

PO Box 90 ~ Majuro, MH 96960 ~ Marshall Islands Phone: 692.625.8298 ~ 692.625.8498 ~ Fax: 692.625.3382 ~ Email: pscrmi@ntamar.net

## PSC Instruction 2017/002

The instruction is put forth and into effect to amend section 3 and add a new section 5 to PSC Regulation 73. Current regulation is as follows:

PART VIII - APPEALS

- 73. Rights of appeal
- (1) Every officer shall have a right of appeal in accordance with this regulation to an Appeals Committee –
- (a) Against any determination of the Commission to appoint any person other than an employee, or to promote any employee, to a position on the permanent staff with a higher maximum salary than that of the appellant; or
- (b) Against a decision of the Commission made under regulation 69 of these regulations that a complaint is established; or
- (c) Against a decision of the Commission or head of ministry under regulation 71.
- (2) Notwithstanding subclause (1) of this regulation, no appeal shall lie against any determination of the Commission specified in paragraph (a) of that subclause if –
- (a) the appellant is prohibited under Regulation 33 of these regulations from proceeding to the position of which the determination is made; or
- (b) when the vacancy has been announced by the Commission, the applicant has not applied for the position in respect of which the determination is made within the time specified in the notification of vacancy.
- (3) Notices of appeal under this regulation shall be forwarded to the Commission in writing within 14 days after the notification of the decision appealed against.
- (4) The Commission shall forward copies of the notice of appeal to the Chairman of the Appeals Committee within one week after the date of receipt of such appeal.
- (5) Upon receipt of the notice of appeal by the Commission or the aggrieved employee, Appeals Committee shall have a total of twenty (20) working days to dispose of the matter and to present its final recommendation to the Commission.

Denald F Capelle

Jiba B. Kabua

Justina R I angidrik